We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Nosferatu by the Ang Fang Quartet (album, 2002)

by Paul Gillett

Fo Fum Hum 01:43
The Gates 01:26
Patch 'Em Up 01:46
A New Plague 01:30
Fatal Breath 00:19


Music composed for the 1921 silent film Nosferatu by F W Murnau.


released January 1, 2002

1. Nosferatu’s Waltz
The ungainly rhythm of a dancing fiend.

2. Fo Fum Hum
The delicate equilibrium of young love.

3. A Single Jazz Twig
The agent Renfield was a strange man.

4. The Sleeve of your Remembrance
And if a parting glance should brush the sleeve of your remembrance.

5. In Walked Blood
A Carpathian tavern at dusk.

6. Praeludium Tremulum
You can not always recognise the dangers that beasts can sense at certain times.

7. An Unseemly Transportation
A most indecorous coach and horses.

8. The Gates
And he said: I have cast fire upon the world, and behold I guard it until it is ablaze.

9. Patch 'Em Up
We will go with you no further. For here begins the land of phantoms.

10. Nosferatu's First Attack
And he said: Whoever has come to know the world has discovered a carcass, and whoever has discovered a carcass, of that person the world is not worthy.

11. Descending the Stairs
And he said: The dead are not alive, and the living will not die. In the days when you consumed what is dead, you made it what is alive.

12. A Pair of Twigs
The men little suspected what terrible cargo they were preparing for transport.

13. Ol' Twigspine
Renfield has gone out of his mind.

14. A New Plague
Driven by the unearthly powers of the vampire, the vessel moves rapidly onwards.

15. Fatal Breath
And he said: He who shall drink from my mouth shall become like me; I myself will become he, and the hidden thing shall be revealed to him.

16. Burial at Sea
One evening at sundown, the captain and his first mate buried the last man of the crew.

17. Stickwick Stapers
They saw him escape. He strangled his keeper.

18. Ascending the Stairs
And he said: Damn the flesh that depends on the soul. Damn the soul that depends on the flesh.

19. Nosferatu’s Coda
The master is dead.

Music composed for the 1921 silent film Nosferatu by F W Murnau.

Brett Dellavedova – acoustic guitar, trumpet, autoharp, percussion

Paul Gillett – electric, acoustic and classical guitars, percussion

James Hazelden – cello, amplified voice

Harold Lye – vibraphone, percussion

All tracks composed by Paul Gillett and the Ang Fang Quartet.

Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 12, 13 and 16 recorded on 2 June 2001, tracks 1, 17 and 19 recorded on 8 September 2001, and tracks 6 and 9 recorded on 2 February 2002 by Tom Rouch at Basement Music. Tracks 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15 and 18 recorded at the premiere performance of Nosferatu at Cinemedia at Treasury Theatre by André Bernard on 6 September 2000. Mastered by Tom Rouch at Basement Music.

Photography by Ben Arnfield.

Design by Vehkman.

Thanks to Floyd Thursby, Mike Koller and the National Cinémathèque, Cinemedia, the Federation of Victorian Film Societies, Sforzando, Y’nai and Eilon Morris, DJ Applejack B’s Cabaret All-Stars, Man Bites God, Boat, Didymos Judas Thomas, Roald Amundsen, number 61, and the modern madness.


all rights reserved



Paul Gillett Melbourne, Australia

film composer
gar manouche

fb: MrFloydThursby
tw: MrFloydThursby

contact / help

Contact Paul Gillett

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Paul Gillett, you may also like: